Friday, April 30, 2010

49ers gunning for fifth straight A-10 golf title

The four-time defending champion Charlotte 49ers are vying to become the first Atlantic 10 program since Penn State to win five consecutive golf titles at this weekend's A-10 championship at Mission Inn Resort in Howey-In-The-Hills, Fla.

Penn State won five straight crowns from 1986-91. Charlotte has won all four crowns since the school joined the A-10 in 2005-06. Charlotte has advanced to the five straight NCAA Tournaments, including 2007 and 2008 when they posted third and eighth-place finishes.

Leading the way for Charlotte is 2009 individual champion and three-time All-American Corey Nagy, who was recently named to the 2010 U.S. Palmer Cup Team. Nagy placed third overall at the 2007 A-10 championship and was runner-up in 2008. He seeks to become just the fifth player in league history to win consecutive A-10 individual titles and the first since Xavier's Steve Dixon accomplished the feat in 1998 and 1999.

Nagy leads the 49ers with a 70.97 stroke average, on pace to break the school record of 71.77 set by Ray Sheedy in 2006. Nagy owns a 72.08 career straoke avearge, which currently stands as the 49ers school record. He will be joined in the 49ers lineup by junior Will Golden, sophomores Olafur Loftsson and Paul Ferrier and freshman Andy Sajevic.


Anonymous said...

go niners
bring it home