Tuesday, April 29, 2008

Niners announce all-sports awards

The Charlotte 49ers held their annual all-sports banquet on Sunday, where individual athletic and academic awards were handed out to student-athletes at the school. This year's winners (certain awards were given to 2006-07 athletes since 07-08 seasons are not complete):

Baseball, MVP (06-07), Adam Mills

Men's basketball, MVP, Leemire Goldwire

Men's basketball, Charles Hayward Memorial Grubstake Award, Ian Andersen

Women's basketball, MVP, Sabrina Gregory

Women's basketball, Gold Nugget Award, Erin Floyd

Men's cross country, MVP, Chase Eckard

Men's track and field/cross country, Vincent Vemitsky Memorial Award, Adu Dentamo

Women's cross country, MVP, Aja Jackson

Women's track and field/cross country, Vincent Venitsky Memorial Award, Amanda Goetschius

Golf, MVP (06-07), Jonas Enander Hedin

Men's indoor track and field, MVP, Chase Eckard

Women's indoor track and field, MVP, Aja Jackson

Men's outdoor track and field, MVP (06-07), Chase Eckard

Women's outdoor track and field, MVP (06-07), Shareese Woods

Men's soccer, MVP, Graham Tatters

Men's soccer, David Schlee Memorial Award, Paul Begue

Women's soccer, MVP, Lindsey Ozimek

Softball, MVP (06-07), Becky Matthews

Men's tennis, MVP, Michael Anders

Women's tennis, MVP, Ana Spivakovsky

Women's tennis, Wendi Cook Memorial Award, Koren Fleming

Volleyball, Coach's Award, Jenn Webb

Volleyball, MVP, Alma Arroyo

Cheerleaders, MVP, Jazmin Skipper

Gold Dusters, MVP, Corrie Ducker

Academic Awards (highest GPA over previous two semesters)

Male Hugh McEniry Award, Brad Clinard, Tennis and Matt Dobler, Track

Female Bonnie E. Cone Award, Gina Allen, Softball; Lisa Thomas, Volleyball; Nicole Labuda, Soccer; Lindsey Ozimek, Soccer; and Lamarra Currie, Track.