Monday, April 23, 2007

49ers all-sports awards

The Charlotte 49ers honored some of their own student athletes on Sunday night during the school's annual all-sports banquet. Here is a rundown of the winners (The 2007 baseball, softball, golf and outdoor track and field MVPs will be named at the completion of their seasons and honored at the 2008 Awards Banquet):

Academic Award Winners (athletes with the highest GPA over the previous two semesters):
Bonnie Cone Award (Female) Lamarra Currie (track and field); Jane Daniels (cross-country); Nicole Labuda (soccer); Lindsey Ozimek (soccer); Hugh McEniry Award (male) Matt Dobler (track and field); Aljoscha Jelinek (tennis).

MVP Award Winners:
Baseball, Mike Ambrose (2006 Award), 1st team all-A-10; Team-high .336 avg.; 16 doubles; 51 RBI; M. Basketball, Leemire Goldwire, 2nd in scoring; led A-10 in FT%; Surpassed 1000 points; W. Basketball, Sabrina Gregory, 3rd-team all-Atlantic 10; A-10 all-Defensive Team; Cheerleaders (small co-ed), Jazmin Skipper; Cheerleaders (large co-ed), Emily Waddington; M. Cross-Country, Adu Dentamo, 4th-place at A-10 Champs. (4th-best league finish ever); W. Cross-Country, Tsehaye Dagnachew, A-10 Runner-up (highest finish since 1999); Gold Duster Dance Team, Kelli Dover; Golf, TBA; M. Indoor Track and Field, Jason Moore, 55m A-10 Champ; 3 A-10 Athlete of the Week Awards; W. Indoor Track and Field, Shareese Woods, A-10 Performer of the Year; NCAA all-America (200); M. Soccer, Evan Harding, 1st-team all-Region; 1st team all-Atlantic 10; W. Soccer, Kelsie Ormsby, 3rd-team All-Region; 3rd team Academic All-America; Softball, 2006 Team (2006 Award), A-10 Champs; School-record 42 victories; M. Tennis, Roy Sichel, A-10 Player of the Year (2nd time); Ranked as high #39; W. Tennis, Ana Spivakovsky, School-record 26 Singles Wins; M. Outdoor Track and Field, Ben McCallum (2006 Award), 100 & 200 meter A-10 Champ; 4x100 Champ; W. Outdoor Track and Field, Shareese Woods (2006 Award), NCAA all-America (200); participated in 3 events at NCAA; Volleyball, Jessica Oldenburg, 13th member of 1000 Kill Club (1,172 - 8th all-time).

Special Recognition Award Winners:
M. Basketball, Hayward Memorial Grubstake, Ian Andersen; W. Basketball, Gold Nugget, Traci Ray; M. Cross-Country, Vincent Vernitsky, Ryan Jank; W. Track and Field, Vincent Vernitsky, Sharonda Johnson; M. Soccer, David Schlee, Michael Rose; W. Tennis, Wendi Cook, Koren Fleming; Volleyball, Coaches Award, Lynae Mulder.


Anonymous said...

I love what the Charles Hayward Grubstake Award stands for...God bless his memory.

Anonymous said...


Can you do a story on spring sport in general. Golf, baseball, track, tennis all have had outstanding seasons. Softball has been very good.

Alex said...

Just curious - was Amanda Butler at the banquet?